Monday, 24 August 2009

Steve Bug - The Lab 02 - coming soon

Respected German producer/DJ/label entrepreneur, Steve Bug, follows in the footsteps of Loco Dice, in compiling and mixing a double CD mix for NRK Music’s “The Lab” series. Committed to showcasing the house scene’s most innovative and technologically advanced DJs, “The Lab” is shaping up to be a series worth keeping your ears to the ground for.

Starting his career, quite aptly on the party isle of Ibiza, back in 1991, Steve Bug AKA Stefan Brugesch, broke into production in the early 90s, recording for the now legendary Hamburg based Superstition Recordings. A string of early releases (including one for Felix Da Housecat’s fledgling Radikal Fear label), shaped the ‘Steve Bug’ sound of minimal techno house aimed squarely at the dancefloor. By 1998, Bug had set up two record labels to reflect the wealth of talent in his musical circles, namely Poker Flat Recordings and Dessous.

And so it has been the past 10 years, since the inception of his record labels, that Steve Bug has gone from strength to strength, creating both an uber-cool brand in the Poker Flat label and parties, becoming a skilled producer of sleek, seductive house music, and a world renowned DJ with a annual party schedule that takes him to all four corners of the globe.

And so to The Lab, a double disc treat from Bug that does not disappoint. Over the two discs, Steve shows his depth of DJ style, encompassing more deeper house sounds on disc one, and heady “tech” flavoured grooves on disc two. Showcasing many “leaders of the new school”, from the likes of Motor City Drum Ensemble (MCDE), DJ Koze, Ben Klock, Audiofly, Markus Worgull and Chateau Flight, alongside established artists such as Peace Division, Cobblestone Jazz and Trentmoller, Bug dedicates this Lab mix to those house music producers with an edge and flair for innovative and futuristic sounds. Bug’s “The Lab” mix perhaps sets the trend away from the minimal-by-numbers music from the last couple of years, and pushes the sound to more interesting and deeper territories. The mixes are the sound of now, from the terraces of Ibiza to the beach parties of Croatia, from the underground clubs of Berlin to the sweat soaked warehouses of London and beyond.

Steve Bug - The Lab 02 - is out on September 28th, on mixed 2CD, unmixed 2CD, digital album, and three seperate 12" samplers.


01. Nick Höeppner - Makeover

02. Kevin Griffiths – Cantona Kung Fu

03. Kai Alce feat. Azulu Phantom – Power Thru Pt 3 (Mush Remix)

04. Alex Flitsch & Audiofly – Long Way To Go

05. Rocco – Da Men (Dub)

06. Dplay – Huub Sand

07. Claire Ripley - Kismet

08. Henry L – The Other Day At The Basement (Marcus Worgull's Flugskompensator Dub)

09. David Durango – Perfect Day

10. Sideshow ft. Paul St. Hilaire – If Alone (Chateau Flight Remix)

11. Dan Berkson & James What - Cycles

12. Jay Tripwire – Save Each Other

13. Stl – Silent State

14. Nick Solé – Simple Things

15. Kiki – Good Voodoo


01. Craig Smith & The Revenge - The Soul Part 2

02. Outmode - The Examiner (Tom Taylor Remix)

03. Blagger - Strange Behaviour (DJ Koze AKA Swahimi Remix)

04. Channel X - Ticket

05. Jay Tripwire presents 8 Channels - Control

06. Andrade - Fingers (Dirk Lamprecht Remix)

07. Ben Klock - Subzero

08. H.O.S.H. - Better And Sweet (Audiofly Remix)

09. Steve Bug - Swallowed Too Much Bass (feat. Paris The Black Fu) (Joris Voorn Remix)

10. Art Of Tones feat. Jaw - Call The Shots (Motor City Drum Ensemble Remix)

11. DOP - 36500 Days

12. Cobblestone Jazz - Traffic Jam

13. Peace Division - Eh Oh Um

14. Trentemøller Vs DJ Lab – Rauta (Girls Mix)

15. Re-Up - Inside Us

16. Newworldaquarium - Trespassers (Redshape Remix)

1 comment:

ben alan said...

These two cds are amazing but what else more do you expect from the bug!!!