Tuesday, 20 May 2008

Skylark's "i-Panik" album out with added remix pressure!

‘i-Panik’, the debut album from Skylark, AKA International DJ Nic Fanciulli and Andy Chatterley, has been bubbling under for the last few months as a digital only release on Beatport on Saved Records. And with a slew of top remixes being carved out to contribute to the album NRK Music, in conjunction with Saved, are proud to announce the full release of ‘i-Panik’ along with a companion remix disc.

Skylark have built up a more than solid musical repertoire over the years, mostly as remixers, with artists such as Tiefschwarz, Deep Dish, Paul Woolford, Rulers Of The Deep, Kylie Minogue and Steve Lawler receiving the Skylark treatment to full effect. ‘i-Panik’ sees Skylark lay down their own original production roots, and have crafted out an excellent 11 track album, exploring dancefloor and home listening excursions in deep techno, ambient and housier cuts. The pair have been working together for almost 10 years and their credentials are impressive. Last year they were nominated for a Grammy award under their Buick Project moniker, for their remix of Tiefschwarz’s ‘Damage’ collaboration with Tracy Thorn and together have released over 20 remixes and original productions.

‘i-Panik’ is cleverly accompanied by a bonus remix disc. Fanciulli & Chatterley drew up a wish list of remixers to tackle tracks from the album, and each remixer in turn delivered outstanding versions. The roll call includes Funk D'Void, Manuel Tur, Joris Voorn, UNKLE, Davide Squillace and Joe Mull, and the remix disc provides some amazing re-interpretations of Skylark's originals.

Two singles are out this month, 'Saved' (with mixes from Massi DL and Joel Mull) and 'Movin' (with a great mix from Joris Voorn), and the 'i-Panik' double CD comes out on 2nd June 2008. Two further double pack LPs featuring original mixes and remixes, gets a release later in June.

Disc One


01. Too Much Information

02. i-Panik

03. Movin (with H2)

04. Look No Hands

05. Who Cares

06. Lightning Strikes

07. Red

08. Blocked In (with Mark Fanciulli)

09. All I See

10. Escalator

11. Saved

Disc Two

i-Panik Remixed

01. Too Much Information (Manuel Tur Remix)

02. i-Panik (Davide Squillace Remix)

03. Saved (Joel Mull’s Open End Remix)

04. Saved (Massi DL’s Today Is Groovy Remix)

05. Blocked In (Funk D’Void Remix)

06. Who Cares (Stryke's Respect Remix)

07. Escalator (Matt Tolfrey and Inxec's Swings and Roundabouts Remix)

08. Lightning Strikes (Steve Mac’s Smack Mix)

09. Movin (UNKLE’s Surrender Sounds Session #9)

10. Movin (Joris Voorn Rejected Rave Dub)

No comments: